New Years’ Eve Spa Day

Today kicked off what I thought would be a multi-day process of washing and changing all my dolls! Instead I did it in one afternoon, and even started in on some of the project dolls, although I didn’t get very far before we needed to prepare for company coming over. I took the opportunity though to take stock of everyone’s condition so I can be thinking about what to tackle next. Below are spa day report cards for everyone!

Kirsten – Washed and changed. Has a purple mark on arm and sometime soon I will probably want to wet and curl her hair, though it curled up pretty nicely even after being in braids for two months. Eventually her eyebrows may want darkening.

Kit – Washed and changed, and got rid of some spots on legs with Magic Eraser. All four limbs need restringing.

Felicity – Washed and changed. Hair washed and conditioned and is so much softer now!

Kanani – Washed and changed, hair washed and conditioned and recurled. She’s drying with her curls pinned right now, but is otherwise in great shape.

IMG_0518

Ellen – Washed and changed and cleaned off some spots with Magic Eraser. She has quite a bit of work needed: eyelids need painting, lips could use a touch-up, still a few spots remaining, and her legs are pretty loose.

Kaya – Washed and changed. Perfect condition otherwise!

Ivy – Washed and changed. Perfect otherwise!

Rebecca – Changed, since she’s brand new. Perfect condition.

IMG_0517

Samantha – Washed and changed, some spots removed on legs and I did a little bit of work on the staining on her legs from her black tights but it didn’t seem to do much. Her legs are a little bit loose but not too bad. Her body is pretty stained if I ever get around to washing bodies.

Nellie – Washed and changed. She has pretty loose legs too, and her legs are also stained by the same frigging tights. I have three different black tights I put them in though and I’m not sure which pair did it! I’m 99% sure it’s the one that came with Samantha’s new Holiday dress. 😦

Molly – Washed and changed. Great condition!

Emily – Washed and changed. Perfect condition!

Delaney – Washed and changed. Perfect condition!

Tinuviel – Washed and changed. Perfect condition!

Josefina – Washed and changed. Legs are slightly loose but not bad.

Addy – Washed and changed. Perfect condition!

IMG_0519

Vivienne – Washed and changed. Perfect condition!

Peter – Washed and changed. Discovered his right hand has some subtle pink nailpolish in the nail beds. Peter came from a board member via eBay several years ago, and I’m sort of surprised she’d have let that slip, but then I didn’t notice for 3 years either so… I’m going to experiment with eye swapping and painting with a project doll and if I like it, I’d like to paint his eyes.

Cordelia & Evelyn – Neither one got washed or changed because neither girl has a nightgown. Oops! Probably doing a JoAnn’s run tomorrow to remedy.

As you can see, quite the ordeal! I mainly used baking soda and warm water for washing, and a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser on tough spots. I don’t think it’s quite the miracle worker people on the board said it was, but it did successfully remove a lot of spots baking soda didn’t, so I’m glad to have it.

IMG_0520

 

All of that took at least four hours, maybe another half hour on top of that –I didn’t do a good job of keeping count. But I wasn’t quite done, so I started a little on the project dolls, but I’ll get to them more tomorrow!

 

One thought on “New Years’ Eve Spa Day

Leave a Reply

