Emily’s Picnic Dress

I’ve been wanting to make a checkered dress for Emily for a while. I actually want to make her this adorable ruffled dress from KeepersDollyDudes on flickr because it’s the cutest thing ever. When I went to buy the fabric though I wound up buying yellow instead of red, and then wound up making a completely different dress because I have a short attention span.

I wound up sewing this 1940s dress pattern from bunneybearpatterns. It turned out really stinking cute, although the neckline is higher than I like, so next time I sew with it (and I will, I’ll make a version for Molly!) I’ll just need to be aware about making it lower.

IMG_9376

It also turns out the fabric was SO THIN and I didn’t notice when I bought it. The bodice is lined but Miss Emily is just going to need a slip to wear underneath. This has happened to me a couple times buying fabric; I need to just get better about actually looking.

IMG_9382

I actually made this back in early July? But only now have had time to photograph and post! Pattern was pretty easy to follow and the sleeves are precious.

IMG_9375

NOT sure how I feel about the pink buttons… I’d originally planned white bows but didn’t have any on hand so put the pink buttons… may change down the road.

IMG_9380

Leave a Reply

