Tinvuiel’s Lavender Birthday Gown

Here’s another outfit I made last spring, in the early days of learning to sew. Unlike Ellen’s Easter dress though, I loved this gown as soon as I made it, even though it wound up being almost as difficult, in its own way. The lavendar fabric was so very slipper to sew with. I sewed the rosebuds on with clear thread which snapped every few flowers. I was adapting a pattern for the first time in my life (this Italian Renaissance Dress from Carpatina). And it had so many pieces that I didn’t think could possibly go together in the end.

IMG_9163

Well they did! And Tinuviel wound up with those beautiful, light, lavender birthday gown.

IMG_9167

 

Sleeve view, because this part of the pattern fascinated me:IMG_9171

 

3 thoughts on “Tinvuiel’s Lavender Birthday Gown

    • Jessa says:

      They were actually not at all, and I fully expected them to be! Essentially lined tubes sewn together, and the pattern was really easy to follow.

      • Lined tubes…I wonder if I could do something like that on a blouse for myself? I don’t have a pattern, but I could do a tube. Thanks for this!

Leave a Reply

