Ellen’s Easter Dress

Throwback to an old thing I did before I started blogging! I actually made this dress last spring, right when I first started sewing. As soon as I finished it, I HATED it. I thought it was kind of a lacy, vomity mess. I wanted to murder anything in sight that was that buttercream yellow. I thought Ellen looked weird and unnatural in it.

Now I blame exhaustion and a lack of connection with the doll and her story, all of which have now been remedied. While I absolutely succeeded in making this dress as a new sewer, and the pattern by DollhouseDesigns is great, the fact is that I chose to do the absolute hardest version of the pattern with very little sewing experience. I had to rip out stitches and resew fraying fabric until I was on the point of tears. It took me a full week to make, if only because of all the gathers. And so I don’t blame myself for being really unhappy with it when it finished.

IMG_9182

But now, with the pain of those early days behind me, and with the proper undergarments, I love this dress. Ellen wears it with boots, the crinoline, Cecile’s gloves, and the umbrella from the Marie-Grace/Cecile collection, and she’s just transformed, I think. into a sunshine-y little Easter girl. Granted, as a Boston girl she’d really need a shawl with this, just in case, but as it’s Easter today and the weather is LOVELY we’ll assume she could get on without it.

IMG_9181

Another, possibly my favorite picture of Ellen ever:

IMG_9176

Ah, struggles in umbrellas.

IMG_9173

One thought on “Ellen’s Easter Dress

Leave a Reply

